Log In | Register | March 2, 2024


Linux - June 18, 2012

Boot systems into different runlevels manually.

There are a few ways that you can switch into different runlevels. One way to do it is by the init method.

init 3

The above command would put me into runlevel 3. Running the runlevel command after completion would verify the runlevel we’re currently in.


If you wanted to switch to runlevel 1 you could simply just run init 1 as such.

init 1

You can also change the default runlevel that your system starts up on by editing the inittab file.

vi /etc/inittab

Once in the above file. You’ll see the last line contains


You can change the above number 3 to any runlevel number you wish to change it to.

You can also after rebooting edit your grub menu manually to enter a specified runlevel. For instance, when you see the grub menu appear type the letter e to edit the selection and then choose the kernel line and press e again to edit that line. Lastly you’d want to just add in a space followed by the number runlevel you wish to enter.

Post By: | FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites


RHCSA Certification Study Guide | DevBlog.co
Monday, June 25, 2012

[...] Boot systems into different runlevels manually [...]

Saturday, January 17, 2015

very useful article about the linux system runlevel, it’s really help for me, thanks

Leave a Comment

Need Help? Ask a Question

Ask anything you want from how to questions to debug. We're here to help.

You Must Be Logged In To Post A Question.

Log In or Register